Christian
Elsässer
Composer, Pianist, Conductor

»Time and again, he finds wind beneath his musical wings, which carries the music. Light flows through his compositions, and in turn, they sound light, free, wild and unbridled.« (Ulrich Habersetzer, Bavarian Broadcasting)

 

Sign up HERE to receive the newsletter.

Composer, pianist and conductor Christian Elsässer is one of the most important figures in contemporary jazz in Europe.

He works frequently with the most renowned large ensembles of the international scene like the Metropole Orchestra (3 Grammys), the Scottish National Jazz Orchestra, all German Radio Big Bands (WDR, HR, NRD und SWR) and the Munich Radio Orchestra. Among his musical partners are Dee Dee Bridgewater, Kurt Elling, Mike Stern, Vince Mendoza, Mike Mainieri and many others.
Kurt Elling recorded Elsässer’s arrangement of An American Tune on his album The Questions (2018).

In 2012 Christian Elsässer’s album Seemingly received the ECHO Jazz award. Christian Elsässer’s projects as a bandleader range from trio to 19-piece large ensemble, the Christian Elsässer Jazz Orchestra, which was awarded the Bavarian Arts Award in 2016.

Recently, he released the CDs Spurensuche with the WDR Big Band and The Mirror Suite with the Jazzrausch Bigband. He is a professor of composition and jazz piano at the University for Music and Performing Arts in Munich.

Christian
Elsässer
Komponist, Pianist, Dirigent

 

»Er lässt immer wieder Luft unter seine musikalischen Flügel, die Musik wird davon getragen, Licht durchflutet seine Kompositionen. Leicht, frei, wild und ungezügelt klingen sie dann.« (Ulrich Habersetzer, Bayerischer Rundfunk)

Echo_Jazz_bab

 
 
 
 


HIER für den Newsletter eintragen.

 

Der Komponist, Pianist und Dirigent Christian Elsässer zählt in seiner Generation zu den wichtigsten Vertretern des zeitgenössischen Jazz in Europa.

Er arbeitet regelmäßig mit den renommiertesten Klangkörpern der internationalen Szene wie dem Metropole Orchestra (3 Grammys), dem Scottish National Jazz Orchestra, allen deutschen Rundfunk-Bigbands (WDR, HR, NRD und SWR) sowie dem Münchner Rundfunkorchester. Zu seinen musikalischen Partnern zählen viele Stars der Branche, so Dee Dee Bridgewater, Kurt Elling, Mike Stern, Vince Mendoza, Mike Mainieri u.v.a.

2012 wurde sein Album Seemingly mit dem ECHO Jazz ausgezeichnet. Christian Elsässers eigene Projekte erstrecken sich vom Trio bis hin zur 19-köpfigen Großformation, dem Christian Elsässer Jazz Orchestra welches 2016 mit dem Bayerischen Kunstförderpreis ausgezeichnet wurde.

Zuletzt veröffentlichte er die CDs „The Mirror Suite“ mit der Jazzrausch Bigband und „Flying in Circles“ mit der NDR Bigband. Er ist Professor für Komposition und Jazz-Piano an der Hochschule für Musik und Theater München.